Emphases and activities: an overview of the most important topics and projects by which Switzerland is contributing to the Partnership for Peace programme

For its participation in the Partnership for Peace programme Switzerland lays several thematic emphases as indicated by its own security policy interests and requirements. Switzerland contributes according to these emphases in the form of projects and training options. Switzerland engages itself in fields where it is able to benefit because of its own interests and requirements or where it is able to offer it'a partners expertise.

Switzerland defines its emphases and activities in Partnership for Peace in a cooperation programme that is annually approved by the Federal Council. On this basis Switzerland agrees with NATO annually an individual partnership and cooperation programme.

Preservation and improvement of military interoperability is an important goal of the Partnership for Peace programme. In this way prerequisites are established for joint participation of NATO member states and non-member states in peace support or humanitarian relief operations. For this purpose, Switzerland participates in exercises on a case-by-case basis. Switzerland adheres strictly to its neutrality.

Security policy training

Within the Partnership for Peace programme Switzerland offers a range of courses and training programmes through which it offers its expertise to other partners. At the same time, Switzerland benefits from the experience other countries share with it.

Since the beginning of its participation in the Partnership for Peace programme, Switzerland has been involved in security policy training. With the three ‘Geneva centres’ (Geneva Centre for Security Policy; GCSP; Geneva International Centre for humanitarian Demining; GICHD, and the Geneva Centre for the Democratic Control of Armed forces, DCAF) Switzerland has three important instruments for imparting knowledge and providing support, who also provide services in support of the Partnership for Peace programme.

International humanitarian law

As state that founded the Red Cross organisation and as depository state of the Geneva Conventions strengthening international humanitarian law is a traditional focus of Swiss foreign policy. Switzerland therefore also offers its partners within the Partnership for Peace programme courses on the principles of international humanitarian law. Switzerland thus helps to establish the basic rules of international law in the armed forces of the Euro-Atlantic region.

One of the original goals of the Partnership for Peace programme was the support of former communist states in their security policy reform efforts. Therefore, Switzerland has been engaged from the start in building security structures and promoting their democratic control. She has supported security policy reforms in several transition states (countries undergoing a change in their political and economic system) in east and south-east Europe. With the DCAF Switzerland has a centre of excellence at its disposal that takes the international lead in the field of security sector reform.

Support projects

In the Partnership for Peace programme Switzerland also supports specific projects on the ground. One example are the trust fund projects. Several NATO states and partner states are jointly involved in these long-term projects, for instance to destroy anti-personnel mines, weapons or ammunition or to transform military grounds into areas that can be used for civilian purposes. 

 


DDPS General Secretariat
Security Policy DDPS
Federal Palace East
CH 3003 Bern
Tel.
+41 58 464 75 17

Contact form


Print contact

DDPS

General Secretariat
Security Policy DDPS
Federal Palace East
CH 3003 Bern

Show map

Internet DDPS:

www.vbs.admin.ch

 

Internet FDFA:

www.eda.admin.ch

Schwerpunkte und Aktivitäten: Eine Übersicht der wichtigsten Themen und Projekte, mit denen die Schweiz zur Partnerschaft für den Frieden beiträgt

Die Schweiz setzt für ihre Teilnahme an der Partnerschaft für den Frieden mehrere thematische Schwerpunkte, die durch ihre eigenen sicherheitspolitischen Interessen und Bedürfnisse bestimmt werden. Entlang dieser Schwerpunkte richtet sie ihre konkreten Beiträge in Form von Projekten und Ausbildungsangeboten aus. Die Schweiz engagiert sich dort, wo sie aufgrund eigener Interessen und Bedürfnisse profitieren kann oder wo sie ihren Partnern Know-how anbieten kann.

Die Schweiz definiert ihre Schwerpunkte und Aktivitäten in der Partnerschaft für den Frieden in einem Kooperationsprogramm, das jährlich vom Bundesrat verabschiedet wird. Darauf basierend vereinbart sie jährlich ein Individuelles Partnerschafts- und Kooperationsprogramm mit der Nato.

Der Erhalt und die Verbesserung der militärischen Zusammenarbeitsfähigkeit (Interoperabilität) ist ein wichtiges Ziel der Partnerschaft für den Frieden. Dadurch werden die Voraussetzungen für die gemeinsame Teilnahme von Nato- und Nicht-Nato-Staaten an friedensunterstützenden Einsätzen oder internationalen humanitären Hilfeleistungen geschaffen. Die Schweiz nimmt dazu vereinzelt an Übungen teil. Die Neutralität der Schweiz wird dabei strikt eingehalten.

Sicherheitspolitische Ausbildung

Die Schweiz bietet in der Partnerschaft für den Frieden eine Reihe von Kursen und Ausbildungsprogrammen an, in denen sie ihr Know-how an ihre Partner weitergibt. Gleichzeitig profitiert sie vom Erfahrungsaustausch mit anderen Ländern.

Seit Beginn ihrer Teilnahme an der Partnerschaft für den Frieden engagiert sich die Schweiz in der sicherheitspolitischen Ausbildung. Mit den drei «Genfer Zentren» (Genfer Zentrum für Sicherheitspolitik, GCSP; Genfer Internationales Zentrum für Humanitäre Minenräumung; GICHD, und Genfer Zentrum für die Demokratische Kontrolle der Streitkräfte, DCAF) hat sie drei wichtige Instrumente zur Wissensvermittlung und Unterstützung geschaffen. Die Schweiz nimmt dazu vereinzelt an Übungen teil. Die Neutralität der Schweiz wird dabei strikt eingehalten.

Humanitäres Völkerrecht

Als Gründungsstaat des Roten Kreuzes und Depositarstaat der Genfer Konventionen ist die Stärkung des humanitären Völkerrechts ein traditioneller Schwerpunkt der Aussenpolitik der Schweiz. Darum bietet die Schweiz ihren Partnern auch im Rahmen der Partnerschaft für den Frieden Ausbildungskurse über die völkerrechtlichen Prinzipien an. Sie leistet damit einen Beitrag zur Verankerung der Grundregeln des Völkerrechts in den Streitkräften des euro-atlantischen Raums.

Eines der ursprünglichen Ziele der Partnerschaft für den Frieden war die Unterstützung ehemals kommunistischer Staaten in ihren sicherheitspolitischen Reformbestreben. Deshalb engagiert sich die Schweiz seit Beginn ihrer Teilnahme beim Aufbau und der Demokratisierung der Sicherheitsstrukturen. Sie unterstützte mehrere Transitionsstaaten (Staaten, in denen ein politischer und wirtschaftlicher Systemwechsel vollzogen wird) in Ost- und Südosteuropa in ihren sicherheitspolitischen Reformen. Mit dem DCAF verfügt die Schweiz über ein Kompetenzzentrum, das auf dem Gebiet der Sicherheitssektorreform international führend tätig ist.

Unterstützungsprojekte

In der Partnerschaft für den Frieden unterstützt die Schweiz auch konkrete Projekte vor Ort. Ein Beispiel dafür sind die Treuhandfondsprojekte. An diesen längerfristigen Programmen beteiligen sich jeweils mehrere Nato- und Partnerstaaten gemeinsam, um zum Beispiel Personenminen, Waffen oder Munition zu zerstören oder ehemalige Militärareale für zivile Nutzung umzuwandeln.

 


VBS Generalsekretariat
Sicherheitspolitik VBS
Bundeshaus Ost
CH-3003 Bern
Tel.
+41 58 464 75 17

Kontaktformular


Kontakt drucken

VBS

Generalsekretariat
Sicherheitspolitik VBS
Bundeshaus Ost
CH-3003 Bern

Karte ansehen

Internet VBS:

www.vbs.admin.ch

 

Internet EDA

www.eda.admin.ch