Switzerland and Partnership for Peace: Why Switzerland is involved in the programme

Switzerland has been participating in the Partnership for Peace (PfP) programme since 1996. PfP is a political initiative that is jointly realised by the 29 NATO member states and 22 partner states. Cooperation within PfP is aimed at enhancing trust and transparency in sensitive areas relating to security and defence policy. The objective of the partnership is to promote the security policy dialogue in the Euro-Atlantic area and to enhance peace, democracy and security in Europe through substantial cooperation.

For Switzerland the Partnership for Peace programme is an instrument for cooperation with NATO and other partner states selectively and according to its own security policy interests. Cooperation is always voluntary and is determined by the partner itself.

In the Partnership for Peace programme Switzerland is able to bring in its interests vis-a-vis NATO and other partner states and benefits from the exchange of information and experience. Many current threats and dangers are not limited to national borders. Therefore, the Euro-Atlantic states face similar security policy challenges that they are often only able to resolve jointly. So NATO and its partners have a common interest in dialoguing, sharing information and military interoperability.

Switzerland’s participation in the Partnership for Peace programme has been augmented with the foundation of the Euro-Atlantic Partnership Council in 1997. It enables an institutionalised security policy dialogue with NATO.


DDPS General Secretariat
Security Policy DDPS
Federal Palace East
CH 3003 Bern
Tel.
+41 58 464 75 17

Contact form


Print contact

DDPS

General Secretariat
Security Policy DDPS
Federal Palace East
CH 3003 Bern

Show map

Internet DDPS:

www.vbs.admin.ch

 

Internet FDFA:

www.eda.admin.ch

Die Schweiz und die Partnerschaft für den Frieden: Warum die Schweiz in der Partnerschaft für den Frieden mitmacht

Die Schweiz nimmt seit 1996 an der Partnerschaft für den Frieden (PfP) teil. PfP ist eine politische Initiative, die gemeinsam von den 29 Nato- und 22 Partnerstaaten getragen wird. Durch die Kooperation innerhalb der Partnerschaft für den Frieden soll Vertrauen und Transparenz im sensiblen Bereich der Sicherheits- und Verteidigungspolitik geschaffen werden. Ziel der Partnerschaft ist es, den sicherheitspolitischen Dialog im euro-atlantischen Raum zu fördern und durch konkrete Zusammenarbeit einen Beitrag zu Frieden, Demokratie und Sicherheit in Europa zu leisten.

Für die Schweiz ist die Partnerschaft für den Frieden ein Instrument, um mit der Nato und anderen Partnerstaaten punktuell und nach eigenen Interessen sicherheitspolitisch zusammenzuarbeiten. Die Zusammenarbeit erfolgt auf freiwilliger Basis und wird vom jeweiligen Partner selbst bestimmt.

Die Schweiz kann in der Partnerschaft für den Frieden ihre Interessen gegenüber der Nato und anderen Partnerstaaten einbringen und profitiert vom Informations- und Erfahrungsaustausch. Viele der aktuellen Bedrohungen und Gefahren machen keinen Halt vor nationalen Grenzen. Die euro-atlantischen Staaten stehen darum vor ähnlichen sicherheitspolitischen Herausforderungen, die sie oft nur gemeinsam lösen können. So haben die Nato und ihre Partner ein gemeinsames Interesse am Dialog, am Informations- und Erfahrungsaustausch und an der Fähigkeit zur militärischen Zusammenarbeit (Interoperabilität).

Die Teilnahme der Schweiz an der Partnerschaft für den Frieden wird durch die Mitgliedschaft im 1997 gegründeten Euro-Atlantischen Partnerschaftsrat ergänzt. Dieser ermöglicht einen institutionalisierten sicherheitspolitischen Dialog mit der Nato.


VBS Generalsekretariat
Sicherheitspolitik VBS
Bundeshaus Ost
CH-3003 Bern
Tel.
+41 58 464 75 17

Kontaktformular


Kontakt drucken

VBS

Generalsekretariat
Sicherheitspolitik VBS
Bundeshaus Ost
CH-3003 Bern

Karte ansehen

Internet VBS:

www.vbs.admin.ch

 

Internet EDA

www.eda.admin.ch