Switzerland and Partnership for Peace: Why Switzerland is involved in the programme

Switzerland has been participating in the Partnership for Peace (PfP) programme since 1996. PfP is a political initiative that is jointly realised by the 29 NATO member states and 22 partner states. Cooperation within PfP is aimed at enhancing trust and transparency in sensitive areas relating to security and defence policy. The objective of the partnership is to promote the security policy dialogue in the Euro-Atlantic area and to enhance peace, democracy and security in Europe through substantial cooperation.

For Switzerland the Partnership for Peace programme is an instrument for cooperation with NATO and other partner states selectively and according to its own security policy interests. Cooperation is always voluntary and is determined by the partner itself.

In the Partnership for Peace programme Switzerland is able to bring in its interests vis-a-vis NATO and other partner states and benefits from the exchange of information and experience. Many current threats and dangers are not limited to national borders. Therefore, the Euro-Atlantic states face similar security policy challenges that they are often only able to resolve jointly. So NATO and its partners have a common interest in dialoguing, sharing information and military interoperability.

Switzerland’s participation in the Partnership for Peace programme has been augmented with the foundation of the Euro-Atlantic Partnership Council in 1997. It enables an institutionalised security policy dialogue with NATO.


DDPS General Secretariat
Security Policy DDPS
Federal Palace East
CH 3003 Bern
Tel.
+41 58 464 75 17

Contact form


Print contact

DDPS

General Secretariat
Security Policy DDPS
Federal Palace East
CH 3003 Bern

Show map

Internet DDPS:

www.vbs.admin.ch

 

Internet FDFA:

www.eda.admin.ch

La Suisse et le Partenariat pour la paix: pourquoi la Suisse participe-t-elle au Partenariat pour la paix ?

La Suisse participe depuis 1996 au Partenariat pour la Paix (PPP), une initiative politique soutenue en commun par les 29 Etats membres de l’OTAN et 22 Etats associés. La coopération au sein du PPP a pour but d’instaurer la confiance et la transparence dans le domaine sensible de la politique de sécurité et de défense. L’objectif du Partenariat est de favoriser le dialogue au sein de l’espace euro-atlantique et de contribuer, par une collaboration concrète, à la paix, à la démocratie et à la sécurité en Europe.

La Suisse considère le PPP comme un instrument lui permettant de collaborer ponctuellement avec l’OTAN et d’autres Etats associés dans le domaine de la politique de sécurité, tout en préservant ses propres intérêts. La collaboration, qui se déroule sur une base volontaire, est définie individuellement par chaque partenaire.

Dans le cadre du PPP, la Suisse peut défendre directement ses intérêts vis-à-vis de l’OTAN et des autres Etats partenaires tout en profitant des possibilités offertes pour échanger des informations et des expériences. Comme les nouvelles menaces et les nouveaux dangers font généralement fi des frontières nationales, les Etats de l’espace euro-atlantique doivent relever des défis similaires en matière de politique de sécurité, et travailler ensemble pour trouver des solutions. Ainsi, l’OTAN et ses partenaires partagent un intérêt commun pour le dialogue, l’échange d’informations et d’expériences et la capacité à collaborer militairement (interopérabilité).

Depuis son adhésion au Conseil de partenariat euro-atlantique, fondé en 1997, la Suisse participe, en plus du PPP, également à un dialogue institutionnalisé avec l’OTAN dans le domaine de la politique de sécurité. 


DDPS Secrétariat général
Politique de sécurité
Palais fédéral est
CH-3003 Berne
Tél.
+41 58 464 75 17

Formulaire de contact


Imprimer contact

DDPS

Secrétariat général
Politique de sécurité
Palais fédéral est
CH-3003 Berne

Voir la carte

Internet DDPS :

www.ddps.admin.ch

 

Internet DFAE :

www.dfae.admin.ch